What is your study programme?

For current information about the demonstrations, see uva.nl/protestsExternal link

Information for
[ enrolled students ]
What is your study programme?

For current information about the demonstrations, see uva.nl/protestsExternal link

R=The Sweelinck orchestra in the Concertgebouw

Ticket draw for Sweelinck Orchestra concert

Published on 31-10-2022 16:51
The UvA's J.Pzn. Sweelinck student orchestra, the oldest symphony orchestra in Amsterdam, is giving a concert at the Concertgebouw on Tuesday, 30 June. Because there is usually more interest than seats available, we're holding a ticket draw. Enter your name in the draw by 30 May for a chance to win a concert ticket.
Show information for your study programme
You're currently viewing general information. Choose your study programme to see additional information that's specific to your study programme, such as deadlines, regulations and contact details.
What is your study programme?


  • Igor Stravinsky - The Firebird (1919 Suite)
  • Paul Dukas - The Sorcerer's Apprentice
  • Maurice Ravel - Alborada del gracioso
  • Béla Bartók - Concerto for Orchestra

Date and location

  • Date: Tuesday, 13 June, 20:15
  • Location: Concertgebouw, Museumplein 10

Ticket draw

Enter your name, and let us know if you wish to bring a guest, by Tuesday, 30 May.

Enter the ticket draw here.External link

We'll inform you by email whether your name has been drawn. Keep an eye on your mailbox and spam filter!

More about the concert

The programme's title, Fantasia, is a reference to the eponymous Walt Disney film in which iconic classical works are brought to life through animation. Both The Sorcerer's Apprentice and The Firebird (1919 Suite), two of the pieces that will be performed at the Sweelinck Orchestra's lustrum concert, appear in the film.

Paul Dukas's The Sorcerer's Apprentice is a symphonic poem based on the eponymous poem by Johann Wolfgang von Goethe, in which a wizard leaves his apprentice alone in his workshop, with catastrophic consequences.

The orchestra will also perform Igor Stravinsky's The Firebird (1919 Suite), the orchestral suite of the enchanting ballet of the same name. This is a fanciful fairy tale that illustrates the meaning of the word "phantasia."

In addition, they will play Alborada del gracioso by Maurice Ravel. This piece is an orchestrated version of one of the five parts of Ravel's piano suite Miroirs and has an exotic Spanish character.

Finally, after intermission, Sweelinck will perform Béla Bartók's Concerto for Orchestra. This five-part composition bears the somewhat contradictory name "concert" due to its soloistic and virtuoso treatment of the various orchestra sections. Concerto for Orchestra includes many folk melodies, making it a virtuosic "fantasia."