For best experience please turn on javascript and use a modern browser!
Programme Committee

Programme Committee

Graduate School of Child Development and Education

The Programme Committee carries out its task by continuously monitoring the education and by providing solicited and unsolicited advice to the implementing institutes on how the education is organised and implemented.


The Dutch Higher Education and Scientific Research Act, stipulates that each study programme must have a Programme Committee, which consists of both students and lecturers. The Programme Committee monitors the quality of the education, discusses any bottlenecks in the study programmes and advises on the development and implementation of the education policy.

Duties and responsibilities of the Programme Committee include:

  • Advising the Dean and the Programme Directors about the Teaching and Examination Regulations, and their implementation.
  • Advising the Dean and Programme Manager on maintaining and improving the quality of the study programmes.
  • Issuing advice, either solicited or unsolicited, on all aspects of teaching.

This means that the study Programme Committee plays an indispensable role in quality assurance.

Work area

The Programme Committee offers advice the management on all matters concerning teaching and education:

  • the study programmes
  • the Education and Examination Regulations (in Dutch: Onderwijs- en Examenregeling, OER)
  • the method of testing
  • evaluation of courses and curriculum

More practical matters are also discussed, such as:

  • scheduling
  • literature
  • audiovisual facilities


For general inquires or comments, please contact the Programme Committee by e-mail.

Send an e-mail to the Programme Committee

Composition of the current Programme Committee

The 2018-2019 Programme Committee members are:

Teacher members

  • Niels Smits (chair)     
  • Alithe van de Akker
  • Mark Assink
  • Mieke Konings
  • Mirjana Majdandzic
  • Marijke Metz
  • Tessa van Schijndel

Student members

  • Arthur Daniels (Research Master's Child Development and Education)
  • Marit Dekker (Bachelor's Educational Sciences)
  • Lotte Hensen (Bachelor's University Programme of Primary Teacher Education)
  • Catharina Nguyen (Bachelor's Pedagogical Sciences)
  • Bo Peperkamp (Bachelor's Pedagogical Sciences)
  • Isabeau van Velsen (Bachelor's Pedagogical Sciences)
  • Aishlinn Schippers (Master's Educational Sciences)