For best experience please turn on javascript and use a modern browser!
Programme Committee

Programme Committee

Human Geography and Urban and Regional Planning

Programme Committee - GPIO

Programme Committees (Opleidingscommissie - OC)

Every programme has a Programme Committee, the so-called opleidingscommissie. The members are appointed by the Dean of the Faculty. Half of the members are students of the relevant programme, the other half consists of faculty members.

The programmes committee are the most important advisory body on programme level for the management. The committee has rights granted by law:

  • give advise on the Teaching and Examination Regulations
  • yearly evaluation of how the Teaching and Examination Regulations have been executed
  • give advise, upon request or upon own initiative, about the management and structure of the programme
  • give advice, upon request or upon own initiative, about anything concerning the education within the programme.

Members of the OC are appointed by the dean FMG for a maximum period of 2 years (can be renewed) on the recommendation of the director of the GSSS.

Programme committee Human Geography  and Urban and Regional Planning


  • dr. Wouter van Gent (chair)
  • dr. Nanke Verloo
  • dr. Els Veldhuizen (till 1 February 2020)


  • Imaan Faruqui (representing Human Geography)
  • Lotus Arian (representing Human Geography)
  • Merel Nijhuis (representing Urban & Regional Planning)

Contact details:

  • E-mail:
  • Mailing address:
    Programme Committee HG/URP
    Attn. Wouter van Gent
    PO Box 15725 
    1001 NE Amsterdam

Declaration form


GSSS students that are members of a programme committee (opleidingscommissie) or another official student representative body, such as the Facultaire Studentenraad can apply for a so-called bestuursbeurs (scholarship for student representatives).

Information about compensation for being a student member; Link

PC meeting data 19-20