For best experience please turn on javascript and use a modern browser!

Rolef de Weijs, lecturer of the Bachelor's programme in Law as well as the Master's programmes in Law and Finance, Commercial Legal Practice and European Private Law, has been voted 2019 Lecturer of the Year for the Amsterdam Law School by its students.

Dean and Rolef de Weijs holding a Teacher of the year certificate of the Amsterdam Law School.

On Monday 13 May, his students, family and colleagues – including Dean André Nollkaemper – surprised Rolef with the news during his lecture on Insolvency Law and Corporate Finance. 'Rolef de Weijs is one of the most dedicated lecturers I have ever had! He knows all of the students' names, detailed histories and where they work' and 'Rolef inspires students to get involved in scientific debate', according to two of the students who voted.

About Rolef de Weijs

Prof. R.J. (Rolef) de Weijs is professor of National and International Insolvency Law. He teaches the Insolvency Law and Corporate Finance course, part of the new Master's programme in Law & Finance. In addition, he teaches the compulsory Amsterdam Law Practice course Insolvency Law and Corporate Finance as part of the Dutch-language Master's programme in Commercial Legal Practice, the English-language Finance, Security and Insolvency course as part of the Master's programme in European Private Law, and the compulsory Bachelor's course Insolvency and Security. De Weijs is also closely involved with many other UvA legal degree programmes in a wide variety of capacities.

Dean holds a speech in front of students

About the Lecturer of the Year award

Each and every day, UvA students benefit substantially from the tireless commitment as well as the dedication of enthusiastic, helpful and inspirational lecturers. To recognise these efforts, the UvA organises the annual Lecturer of the Year award in collaboration with the Central Student Council and the ASVA Student Union. Together with all the other faculty winners, Weijs is now in the running for the 2019 Lecturer the Year award, the winner of which will be announced on Education Day (28 May).