For best experience please turn on javascript and use a modern browser!

Lecturer of the Year

Lecturer of the Year

Good lecturers are the foundation of good teaching.

Even under current circumstances, with many lecturers having to adjust how they teach, lecturers are working hard to enthuse and inspire students. The UvA is proud of this, and as a community, we'd like to put lecturers in the spotlight. That's why the UvA Teaching & Learning Centre, in collaboration with the Central Student Council, is organising the Lecturer of the Year award.

This year, students and staff can vote online between Monday, 6 April and Friday, 24 April. When voting, there is space to tell us why you are voting for your lecturer.


Every UvA student and staff member can vote for a lecturer between Monday, 6 and Friday, 24 April. After the three-week voting period, faculty winners will be determined based on the number of votes per faculty. These lecturers will be announced in an online session on 28 May.

AMC has different a voting period because of the circumstances surrounding the coronavirus outbreak. Their voting period will take place later this year. More information follows.

The overall UvA Lecturer of the Year will be determined by a jury made up of the faculty winners and announced on Education Day 2020. Because of the coronavirus outbreak, Education Day will take place later this year.

Past winners

Past winners include Elio Baldi, Frank Nack, Antoinette Muntjewerff, Bas de BruinJoris MarĂ©eMieke MulderJan van MaarseveenGerben MoermanSander BaisPeter StarreveldMathieu de Bakker and Maria Bonaria Urban.

The Lecturer of the Year award has existed since 2007.